Strategy adjustment starting 8/18/12

I have no numbers I wish to post for the past few days.  They have been kind of a train wreck including a moderate nighttime hypo and followed by a bit of a prolonged rebound spike due to over-treating said hypo.

However, this along with some other developments has prompted a revised strategy that I will begin to implement tomorrow morning bright and early.  Here’s how it will work.

I will begin the day at 4:00 a.m. promptly every morning.  At 4:30 a.m. I will test, inject, make breakfast, then eat.  For breakfast I will eat no more but as close to 15 grams of carbohydrate.  I should be done eating around 5:00 a.m.. I will retest at 7:00 a.m. then exercise for 1/2 hour.  I will eat 15 grams of carbohydrate for lunch between 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. and inject fifteen minutes prior to eating.  At 4:30 p.m. I will test, inject, make supper and eat and should be done around 5:00 p.m.

 

I will reduce my morning dose of NPH to 20 to compensate for moving my exercise time from evening to morning.  I will begin with a noontime bolus of one unit of aspart and adjust accordingly using the formula of 1 unit for every 15 grams of carbohydrate to be consumed plus one unit aspart for every 50 mg/dl drop in blood glucose I want to effect.  I will continue with 10 units nph in the evening plus 1 unit asp. for every 15 grams of carbohydrate.

This really should get me to 70 mg/dl to 110 mg/dl all day every day.

About roguediabetic

I am a Type 1 diabetic diagnosed in August of 93 while serving in the United States Marine Corps. After over eighteen years of poor blood sugar control and early complications including a left big toe amputation I finally figured out how to control my blood sugar. What I finally learned about blood sugar control ultimately had little to do with what I was told.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

