Rumblin Stumblin

While I have been lazy about posting over the past few months I have even though checkered by failure, had a quite eventful and successful fall and early winter with respect to managing my diabetes.  The most critical developments are these.

1.  Last A1C 5.5%

2.  Switched to Lantus in favor of NPH for a variety of reasons most notably too reduce hypoclycemic episode.

3. Current 30 day average 121 mg/dl.

4.  Last lipid panel; HDL 93, LDL 115, Tri 93.  Quit taking statins blockers. 

So those are pretty much the highlights and I will continue my efforts to normalize my sugar despite the rampant, irresponsible, alarmism that my doctors and the medical community engages in regarding the increased risk of severe hypoglycemia supposedly associated with tight control.   I have learned that hypoglycemia is caused by the inappropriate use of medication and the risk of severe hypoglycemia is dramatically increased when tight control is attempted in conjunction with a high carbohydrate diet This increased risk stems from the larger, more frequent doses of fast acting insulin needed to cover the carbohydrate portion of the diet. 

About roguediabetic

I am a Type 1 diabetic diagnosed in August of 93 while serving in the United States Marine Corps. After over eighteen years of poor blood sugar control and early complications including a left big toe amputation I finally figured out how to control my blood sugar. What I finally learned about blood sugar control ultimately had little to do with what I was told.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

